PESA Scholarships for 2012 announced

Philosophy of Education Society of Australasia (PESA) Scholarships for 2012 announced

Professor Jānis Ozolins, Scholarship Manager for the Philosophy of Education Society of Australasia (PESA) announced recently, on behalf of the Society, that the winners of the PESA doctoral scholarships for 2012 are Mr. Richard Heraud, a PhD student at University of Waikato, and Mr. Marek Tesar, a PhD student at the University of Auckland. Judging was undertaken by an independent panel, comprising Associate Professor Nesta Devine, President of the Society and Research Co-ordinator in the School of Education, Auckland University of Technology and Professor Jānis Ozolins, Immediate Past President of the Society, Professor of Philosophy and Deputy Chair of the Academic Board at the Australian Catholic University. Each PESA Scholarship is valued at AUD10,000, and is offered to assist and encourage students in completing their doctoral programs. The Society supports doctoral students in order to advance serious philosophical discussion about education. Professor Ozolins stated that the quality and number of applications for the Scholarships received this year, up to two of which are awarded each year, was very high. “I am pleased to say that the PESA Scholarships are attracting a lot of interest from members of the Society around the world,” he said.

Mr Heraud’s thesis, titled “The innovative subject: A philosophical perspective”, explores the way in which innovation has become a political device requiring the transformation of individuals into political subjects and the consequences of this. Mr. Tesar’s thesis, titled “Governing Childhoods through Stories: Producing Political Childhood Subjectivities”, is concerned with the production of childhoods and childhood subjectivities in different political contexts and countries, utilising the philosophical framework on power and truth of Vaclav Havel, former Czech president and thinker.

It is likely that further applications will be invited for next year.

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account