51st Philosophy of Education Society of Australasia Conference

Being Together in/with Place: Reimagining Educational Philosophies and Pedagogies in Transformational Times

6-9 December 2023, Auckland, New Zealand

Latest Conference: COVID-19 – HOW DOES IT FEEL? - 7 December 2021

The presentations from the Online 2021 conference are now available here

General Conference Information

The annual PESA conference provides the major venue in Australasia for the presentation of research papers and discussions about philosophy of education. In recent years, the conference has been held in various places around the South Pacific, including Hong Kong (2005), Hawaii (2009), Taiwan (2012), and Fiji (2016).

Conference Participation

The tradition of the Society is to provide a supportive environment for the presentation of papers and the encouragement of a more profound understanding of practical and theoretical issues in education. Those new to the philosophy of education are always welcome.

Previous PESA Conferences

  • 2021 Online
  • 2018 Rotorua (Leon Benade, Nesta Devine, Andrew Gibbons, Rotorua, New Zealand)
  • 2017 Newcastle (Daniella Forster, Rachel Buchanan, Newcastle, Australia)
  • 2016 Fiji
  • 2015 Melbourne (ACU)
  • 2014 Hamilton (Tina Besley, Michael A. Peters, Jayne White, Hamilton, New Zealand)
  • 2013 Melbourne (University of Melbourne)
  • 2012 Taiwan (Ruyu Hung, National Chiayi University, Taiwan)
  • 2011 Auckland (Nesta Devine, Andrew Gibbons, AUT University)
  • 2010 Perth and Margaret River (Bruce Haynes, Felicity Haynes, Murdoch University and Tingrith Farm
  • 2009 Hawaii (Hunter McEwan, University of Hawaii, Manoa)
  • 2008 Brisbane (Eleanor Horton, Queensland University of Technology)
  • 2007 Wellington (Robert Shaw, Open Polytechnic of New Zealand)
  • 2006 Sydney (Jim Mackenzie, The University of Sydney)
  • 2005 Hong Kong (Derek Sankey, Hong Kong Institute of Education)
  • 2004 Melbourne (John Ozolins, Australian Catholic University)
  • 2003 Auckland (Peter Fitzsimons, University of Auckland)
  • 2000 Sydney (Marjorie O'Loughlin, University of Sydney - with INPE)
  • 2002 Brisbane (Mark Freakley, All Hallows School)
  • 2001 Perth (Bruce Haynes, Edith Cowan University)

Further Details and Proceedings are available in the conference archive


Register Now



University of Auckland
Auckland CBD
Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Interested in becoming a PESA Member?
Find information about PESA membership here.
For conference enquiries: 
Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account